Don’t miss Saint Cecilia concert tonight at Pedrotti

Santa Cecilia by Raphael

On Santa Cecilia Day (nov. 22nd) the whole music world celebrates its Patroness (whom many Music Conservatories are named after).

Tonight, the Music Conservatory “Gioachino Rossini” in Pesaro, celebrates  Santa Cecilia with a concert performed by the Conservatory orchestra and conducted by Luca Ferrara, at the Pedrotti Auditorium, in Piazza Oliveri at 9 pm.

The programme of tonight’s concert includes the ouverture from Carl Maria von Weber‘s Der Freischütz, “Paolo, datemi pace!” from Riccardo Zandonai‘s Francesca da Rimini (by the way, the composer Riccardo Zandonai was the director of Pesaro Music Conservatory from 1940 to his death in 1944) and music by Verdi, Donizetti, Puccini and Strauss.

Unfortunately I won’t be able to go but I think I’ll celebrate my own Santa Cecilia tonight listening to Handel’s Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day composed on the lyrics by John Dryden (one of my beloved English poets).

And what about you? How are you going to spend St. Cecilia Day?

 

Let’s enojoy together a few (enlighted) words on music to celebrate:

“Without music, life would be a mistake.” (Friedrich Nietzsche)

“If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music.” (Albert Einstein)

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent” (Victor Hugo)

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” (Plato)

“Play it fuckin’ loud!” (Bob Dylan)

“Music . . . can name the unnameable and communicate the unknowable.” (Leonard Bernstein)

“I just can’t listen to any more Wagner, you know…I’m starting to get the urge to conquer Poland.” (Woody Allen)

“Music makes one feel so romantic – at least it always gets on one’s nerves – which is the same thing nowadays.”  (Oscar Wilde)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

