700 open monuments in Italy on FAI days

FAI 2013

Yesterday and today, the FAI (Fondo per l’Ambiente Italiano – Fund for the Italian Environment) organizes in Italy “FAI Spring Days”: an opportunity not to miss.

On the whole Italian territory, 700 monuments (churches, castles, parks, palazzi) – generally closed to the public – will be open today.

palazzo olivieri
Pesaro, Palazzo Oliveri, seat of the State Music Conservatory “G. Rossini”

In Pesaro, Palazzo Oliveri (18th century) opens up its doors today (it is the seat of the State Music Conservatory “G. Rossini” and it belongs to the Rossini Foundation). Inside the palace, rarely open to the public, is also the so called Tempietto Rossiniano, hosting precious autographs and original heirlooms of the composer.

The palace will be open from 10.00 to 12.30 am and from 3.00 to 6.30 pm. Two guided tours at 11.00 am and at 4.00.

Quite a few monuments will be open today in our Province (Pesaro and Urbino): if you wish to read the whole list please go to: www.giornatafai.it

2 comments

  1. Ciao Simona. Thanks for visiting my blog and liking some of my cooking efforts hehe. I’ve read your about page but couldn’t find a way to comment on it so I will leave my thoughts here. What you’re trying to do with this blog is great: there’s so much more than stereotypes in the cradle of Europe. Although nowadays that cradle has fallen in disgrace. I wish everyone in Italy would walk the same road you have.

    And you quote Goethe! I’m definitely follwing you 🙂

    Alessandro

    • Ciao Alessandro,

      thank you for your words!

      It seems to me that the ‘philosophy’ behind your blog is very akin to mine (therefore I will follow you with great interest).

      Yes, the idea of getting rid of stereotypes and, in the meantime, the need of approaching the ‘essence’ of things, places, people is the “Leitmotiv” – oops I did it again, quoting German 🙂 – that moves me.

      The goal is ambitious, the means are very ‘simple’ (the recipe of my aunt’s ‘crostata’, a church with a Gothic portal and an incredible pastry-shop in front of it, an exhibition, a street).

      I too have a partner who believes in my ‘little’ project. Walter is our food & wine expert at WLB.

      Grazie again and good luck with your blog!

      Simona

Leave a Reply

