Italian Spring sceneries

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Despite the latest rainy weather, Spring has finally arrived!

Here are a few pictures taken in a private garden in Sant’Angelo in Lizzola (about 15 kms far from Pesaro): quince trees, cherry trees, olive trees, maritime pineshorse chestnuts, Judas’ trees (obsiously it is not the scientific name of the tree and yet it is so poetic: a popular legend tells that the tree flowers are purple because Judas hanged himself to this kind of tree), and then calendolas, iris, lemon verbena, rosemary, sage, roses, saxifrage, lilac plants. And green leaves everywhere.

This is how Spring looks around here, in the Province of  Pesaro and Urbino.

Like many people, each Spring I am born anew. Sun, light, colors are the best medicine to get rid of my ‘when-is-winter-going-to-leave?’ grumpy mood.

I am going to turn to the blogoshpere searching for Spring posts, and other Spring scenaries around the world.

Goethe’s last words on his death bed seem to have been: ‘merh Licht’ (more light).

I think mine will be ‘more Spring’

If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?

14 comments

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  2. Spring is most definitely my favorite season. Even the most gloomy areas of this world can be made more beautiful by the sprouting of new buds. Thanks, Simona!

  3. Spring is my favorite season too. Even the most gloomy place can be brightened by new sprouting buds.

  4. Lovely images of Spring! Thanks for your ‘like’ on my blog posts of Tyneham and Escape…I have a couple of posts on Spring as well, hope you like them…

  5. Spring looks so beautiful there. you make me want to go even more than ever! It’s Autumn here, a cold wet, rainy morning. Your little bit of Spring brightened my day. thankyou 🙂

    • It’s an odd Spring we are having in Italy this year: cold and rainy. And yet, the flowers all around and nature awakening make me somehow feel like I am born anew. I also love Autumn colors: red, yellow, brown. After Autumn comes Winter and, as Shelley once wrote: ‘If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?’. Have a nice day 🙂

Leave a Reply

