Along the ‘Panoramica’ road

One of the reasons I love Pesaro, my hometown, is that it lies between two hills (the Ardizio and the San Bartolo) – both looking onto the Adriatic Sea. The San Bartolo is my favourite, with its high sea-cliffs going from Pesaro to Gabicce, its wild brooms blooming in the month of June, its golden wheat fileds in the Summer, its olive-trees in the rural landscape heading to the hinterland.

I am particularly fond of the ‘Panoramica’ road: it was my childhood’s favourite destination on Sundays. After attending Mass and before going to my grandparents for the ritual ‘Sunday’ lunch – being lunch more of a rite than Mass itself with my grandmother Pina preparing lasagne, pasticciata, pancettone, erbe, ciambellone and all kinds of ‘goodies’ for her beloved grandchildren – we used to ride through the ‘Panoramica’ from Pesaro to Gabicce, enjoying the different colors of nature: reddish, brownish, orange, dark yellow in the Fall; all shades of green and colorful flowers in Spring and Summer. In Winter our parents mostly took me and my sister for a short ride along the beach street to watch the grey and foamy Winter sea.

The ‘Panoramica’, later on, became the romantic scenery when I first started dating and today it is still one of my favourite romantic places. Being no longer in my ‘teens’ (oops!) the ‘Panoramica’ today means childhood and youth to me – and it also gives me a ‘safe’ sense of continuity with my past.

This is why Walter and I spent his birthday’s evening on the San Bartolo hill. We made our first stop at Giba’s – a nice restaurant just off Pesaro – where we had our Italian ‘aperitivo’ (Campari and green olives) – and enjoyed our dinner at La Canonica restaurant in Casteldimezzo, a lovely borgo hosting a few restaurants and a handful of little houses, located right on top of one of the typical sea cliffs you find along the ‘Panoramica’ road.

The San Bartolo is a protected natural park hosting roe deers, foxes, badgers, porcupines, cormorans, grebes, eider ducks, numerous species of seagulls, peregrine hawks, common owls, little owls, barn owls. The fauna is so rich – rare species are to be found throughout the region, with especially interesting species on the cliffs – that I suggest you to visit the San Bartolo Park pages.

Many are the natural, historical, cultural (and culinary!) treasures of the San Bartolo Park.

Today we offered you an ‘appetizer’ of the San Bartolo hill and of its ‘Panoramica’ road.

The ‘main course ‘ is on the way!

5 comments

Leave a Reply

