When hand made violins turn into visual art works

I still cannot believe it that I will be able to play on one of Ezia Di Labio’s wonderful violins on Friday! When my friend Daniele, violin maker in Pesaro, told me that her friend Ezia Di Labio was going to lend our orchestra her instruments for the concert scheduled on Friday 8th, I nearly fainted! 21 violins, 2 violas and 2 cellos turned into visual art works by poets, painters, composers, philosophers, doctors. Each artist could freely express himself/herself, making the instrument a unique piece of art, without altering its beautiful sound, The violin exhibition is open until Aug. 17th, from 5.30 to 11.00 pm, at the former ‘Cubo’ in Pesaro, right in front of the music conservatory in Pedrotti street.

The violin I will be playing (it was love at first sight – or I should say – at first ‘playing’) was decorated by a German artist, Greta Schödl, who – deriving her inspiration from the violin’s name ‘Aurora’ (Sunset, in Italian also a proper name) – wrote ‘Aurora’s sound’ in German all over the instrument using indian ink and golden resin. Many are the famous artists that Ezia involved in the project: Emanuele Luzzati, Alessandro Bergonzoni, Bruno Bozzetto, Tonino Guerra, Lina Sastri and many more. If you want to see quite a few of them playing together, you won’t miss the concert on Aug. 8th at 7 pm. One hour before the concert Ezia will be glad to take guests on a guided tour through the extraordinary exhibition.

If you do visit the exhibition, you had better stop at Daniele Canu‘s violin laboratory as well (one minute away from Ezia’s violins), in Sabbatini street, in front of the music conservatory. You will be able to admire his beautiful instruments, and actually try them if you play!, in his music laboratory, and you can also visit his unique string instrument museum!

Following a few pictures of Ezia’s instruments I took last week. Enjoy the pictures but – if you get a chance – go and visit the exhibition!

 

10 comments

      • I just had to do it…my brother who is an artist had painted a violin like those pictured a few years ago for a benefit. I wanted him to see the ones pictured. He liked them very much.

          • Hi Diana. Yes, you’re right. There is something magic about violins and violin makers’ laboratories. When I enter my friend Daniele’s shop (he’s a violin maker) I feel exactly as you say… I feel like entering another world. The smell of wood and paint, and then the many violins hanging… a unique experience!

          • Hi Diana. Yes, you’re right. There is something magic about violins and violin makers’ laboratories. When I enter my friend Daniele’s shop (he’s a violin maker) I feel exactly as you say… I feel like entering another world. The smell of wood and paint, and then the many violins hanging… a unique experience!

    • If my post could make you start playing again I would be so honored and happy! Our orchestra is made up of professionists and amateur musicians, with an age range from sixteen to sixty! It’s never too late. ‘Catch a falling star an’ put it in your pocket, never let it fade away…”. Just do it 🙂

  1. Gosh…Just beautiful…there is something super attractive about violins….when I was in Budapest, I came upon a shop that repairs them. There was nothing special about that shop, but they had all of these violins just hanging from wall to wall….and for some reason, it just took my breath away – – – as does your post!

Leave a Reply

